Thoughts on a Luxurious Life

My mother always used to say that I am a ‘rich girl with a poor girls wallet’. I’ve always had taste for the finer things in life, the quality items with matching price tag over the less than refined pieces with a more obtainable price tag. I had this special talent of looking at a catalog and picking out what I loved the most from any 2-page spread only to find the price listed as the most expensive item available. Without a doubt, I knew quality just by looking.

For the longest time, I’ve struggled with the physical image I’ve presented to the world. I have this vision in mind and yet struggle to curate that image in the every day. I don’t want to look frumpy, my children to look un-kept or cared for. There is a level of physical appearance that I feel is respectable. I was once asked why this was so important to me and I think my answer surprised the one asking. My answer was, to me, simple. I felt it my social duty to present a certain level of personal care; to make sure I was not an eyesore in someone else’s world.

A part of The Simply Luxurious Life is creating a signature style. Not just a fashion statement but in the perfume worn, the mannerisms and lifestyle choices. After having children, I definitely lost myself in the mess of daily life. My youngest is 4 years old and I feel as though I never really found myself again. As for fashion, I know I like classic staples- cardigans and khaki’s, a strand of peals and ballet flats. I swoon for cable knit sweaters and boat neck tops; bootcut jeans and A-line skirts. I’m yet to find a brand that works well with my silhouette and so I digress. This year, I will attack my self loathing  attitude and embrace making a change. I’m  not going to allow this to continue. How can I?! If I can’t live the life I want to live- which includes dressing the way I feel most comfortable- than I must do something to change.  I hope that by this time next year, I will be able to say that I’ve made a significant change and am able to embrace my signature style. I’ve written about it in the past and now it’s time to actually do something about it.

To help get me one step closer to my luxurious life, I’ve joined a group of men and women in an exercise challenge. Starting January 16th, I’ll be challenging myself to exercise for 30 minutes every day while eating a clean diet that is catered to my caloric needs to help lose weight. I’ve participated in this type of group within the last 12 months but was struggling to see the results I was hoping for. The timing wasn’t right and my body was trying to tell me that. I have to first address some health concerns- get that moderately unnerving test done so I have the answers and can move on from there, and work with my body and not against it. Family life and personal life has offered more stress than I could really actually deal with and it certainly caught up with me. I’m eager to embrace a slower more purposeful life as we enter the new year.

A simple goal I have is to purchase my first pair of Tieks. They are raved as the most comfortable ballet flats you’ll ever own. They are classic yet on par for the current trends. They are quality and that is what I am aiming for from here on out.

tieks

As I welcome 2016, I look forward to embracing the life I’ve long for for so many years. I long to Be Still, to be present in the here and now (no more running from here to there and back again), a slower approach to the day that allows for quiet time, exercise time, time to enjoy the things I enjoy, finding my comfort in my home and my body.

signature

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

